☰ MENU

Quick List Elementary/Jr. High

NAME GRADE EMAIL
Susan Forthman Pre-K sforthman@popek12.org
Tracey Walter Pre-K Aide
twalter@popek12.org
Farrah Hobbs  Preschool / Early Childhood Teacher

Years in this position -10 years in preschool 5 in Kindergarten

Job duties -Teaching 3-6 year olds in a blended classroom

Likes -The beach, snow days, watching my son play baseball, and watching my daughter dance. Cookie Dough is pretty good too!

Dislikes -Storms, rain, and rude people.

Hobbies -I'll let you know when both of my kids graduate.

Hero -My husband, my parents, and soldiers.

Favorite Quote -"I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength." Philippians 4:13 ​

fhobbs@popek12.org
Shannon Markus Aide
smarkus@popek12.org
     
Johnna Hankins Kindergarten

Years in this position
-29 years

Job duties
-Teaching children to read, write, add, subtract,work together, be individuals,and express themselves in a positive manner,while letting them know that they are valued, accepted, and cared for.

Likes
-Travel, the beach, spending time with family and friends, trying new things (not food), movies, music, plays

Dislikes
-Onions, paperwork

Hobbies
- Drawing, crocheting

Favorite Quote

-"Do It Anway" Mother Teresa

jhankins@popek12.org
Jessica Wagner Kindergarten

Years in this position
-13

Job duties
-Teaching Kindergarten

Likes
-Warm spring days, spending time with the people I love, pasta, and traveling.

Dislikes
-Inside recess and negative people

Hobbies
-Volunteering

Hero
-My grandparents

Favorite Quote
- "The only secret behind a good day is a good attitude"

jwagner@popek12.org
     
Patty Ferrell 1st Grade

Years in this position - 5

Job duties
-I encourage little people to become caring humans and productive citizens.

Likes
-My loves include spending time with family, serving in my church, reading, and traveling.

Dislikes
-I do not like snakes, mice, or negative people

Hobbies
-Traveling and reading

Hero
-My mom who was the strongest person I’ve known.

Favorite Quote
- I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength. Philippians 4:12-13

pferrell@popek12.org
Kim Vinyard 1st Grade
kvinyard@popek12.org
     
Ashley Rison 2nd Grade

 

Years in this position
5

Job duties
-Teaching young and impressionable children how to become decent adults who succeed in whatever makes them happy.

Likes
-*The beach *The color gray *Teaching
*Anything and everything chocolate *Spending time with my family, friends, and cat *Fishing and bow-fishing *Kayaking *Reading
*Napping *Gardening *Traveling *Watching movies and binging shows *Wearing sweatpants *Listening to music *Trying new activities *Unique socks

Dislikes
- *Snakes *Small Spaces *Whistling *Ranch on salad *Soggy food *Clowns *Choosing my favorite song, music, book, or color *Maple *Pancakes, waffles, and french toast

Hobbies
-See what I like :)

Hero
-My mom is my hero in every way.

Favorite Quote
-"Though she be but little, she is fierce." -Shakespeare

Favorite Book(s)
-One of my dislikes is choosing a favorite, so these are the books I will read over and over: The Giving Tree, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, The Fault in Our Stars, If I Stay, 13 Reasons Why, Before I Fall, The Giver, Divergent Trilogy, Paper Towns


arison@popek12.org
Sherri Threlkeld 2nd Grade

Likes
Chocolate, A good cup of coffee, Traveling, and Outdoor adventures

Dislikes
-My allergies and Dusting furniture

Hobbies
-Gardening, Reading, and Quilting

Favorite Book
-Too many to pick just one! So many books, so little time!!

sthrelkeld@popek12.org
     
Brianne Schuchardt 3rd Grade

Years in this position
6 years

Job duties
-Teach

Likes
-Pizza, shopping, summer

Dislikes
-Snakes, inside recess

Hobbies
-Spending time with family, shopping, taking pictures

Favorite Quote
-"No one ever made a difference by being like everyone else."

Favorite Book
-I”ll Love You Forever

bschuchardt@popek12.org
Rhonda Jenkins 3rd Grade

Years in this position
19 years

Job duties
- Regular education classroom teacher

Likes
- books, music, learning new things, flea markets, chocolate, peanut butter, spending time with grandchildren, meeting new people, kids, exploring new places, history, sunny days

Dislikes
-household chores, being stuck in traffic, cloudy days, dishonest people, snakes, insects that sting

Hobbies
-Reading - Traveling - Refurbishing old furniture - Decorating - Trying new recipes

Favorite Quote
"I attribute success to this: I never gave or took any excuse." - Florence Nightingale

Favorite Book
- Song of Fire and Ice - Fiction and Blink - Nonfiction - (too many others to list)

rjenkins@popek12.org
     
Teresa Dunning 4th Grade

Years in this position
6 years

Job duties
-Educating future generations

Likes
-I enjoy traveling with my husband, cuddling with our fur babies, and eating delicious food!

Dislikes
-I loathe inside recess, spiders, snakes, and the dark.

Hobbies
-Attending ballgames, reading, and Jeeping

Favorite Quote
-“Don’t give up! I believe in you all. A person’s a person, no matter how small.” Horton Hears A Who by Dr. Seuss

tdunning@popek12.org
Sheri Hungate 4th Grade

Years in this position
12

Job duties
-teaching 4th graders

Likes
-Coca-Cola, sugar skulls

Dislikes
-frogs

Hobbies
-hiking, riding atv's,art, planting flowers

Hero
-My father(Ronald Butts)

Favorite Quote
-"Life is Like a Box of Chocolates, You Never Know What You Get"

Favorite Book
- Children's books: The Twits, Sadako, and One and Only Ivan

shungate@popek12.org
     
Elaine Bramlet 5th Grade Teacher
ebramlet@popek12.org
Kisty Arnold 5th Grade Teacher

 

Years in this position
4 years

Job duties
-Coffee, sunshine, music

Likes
-Spiders, winter, pickles

Dislikes
-Does googling random things count as a hobby?

Hobbies
-No one is perfect. That is why pencils have erasers.

Favorite Book
-Harry Potter

karnold@popek12.org
     
April Hogg Jr. High
ahogg@popek12.org
Autumn Jackson Jr. High

Years in this position
14

Job duties
-6-8th grade Language Arts

Likes
-Horses, History, home style cooking, and my family and friends

Dislikes
-Social media

Hobbies
-Riding horses, cooking, and genealogy

Hero
-Granny, Dad, Sindy, Louis Zamperini, and Corrie ten Boom

Favorite Quote
-“To persevere, I think, is important for everybody. Don’t give up, don’t give in. There’s always an answer to everything.” Louis Zamperini

Favorite Book
-Christy by Catherine Marshall

ajackson@popek12.org
Seth Graves Jr. High
sgraves@popek12.org
Nicole Key Jr. High Math & English Teacher

Jr. High Student Council

Years in this position
4

Likes
- The Beach

Dislikes
-Pumpkin Pie, Birds

Hobbies
-Organizing, Sports

Hero
-My Husband, my mom

Favorite Quote
-"What doesn't kill you makes you stronger."

Favorite Book
-The Hunger Games

nkey@popek12.org
Lorna Kirby Jr. High

Years in this position
12

Likes
-I like doing crossword puzzles, reading mysteries, and working outside.

Dislikes
-I refuse to watch poignant movies or movies that end sadly.

Hobbies
-My hobbies include upcycling and shopping resale, rafting.

Hero
-My mom is my hero

Favorite Quote
-I can do all thing through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13

lkirby@popek12.org
Sherry Black Jr. High Science

Years in this position
2 years here, 20 years total

Job duties
-Teach science

Likes
-I like quiet, peaceful places.

Dislikes
-Praying mantises

Hobbies
-Cook, relax and shop

Hero
- My best friend Paige Schutt

Favorite Quote
- "Keep smiling, because life is a beautiful thing and there's so much to smile about." Marilyn Monroe"

Favorite Book
- I don't have a favorite book but National Geographic is my favorite magazine.

sblack@popek12.org
Jeanne Clayton Jr. High Health Teacher

Years in this position
3

Job duties
- To teach junior high health

Likes
-Riding my recumbent trike on the Tunnel Hill rail/trail

Dislikes
-Tomatoes and onions

Hobbies
- Reading

Hero
-Pat Summitt

jclayton@popek12.org

Amber Hall K-8 PE Teacher

Years in this position
2

Job duties
- Getting the students to be physical active!!

Likes
- Food, vacations, Crime TV shows, volleyball, and Bears Football.

Dislikes
-Sauerkraut, and cold weather!!!

Hobbies
-Playing and watching sports, reading, cooking, and traveling.

Hero
-Fellow Teachers

Favorite Quote
-"For all have sinned and come short of the glory of God. Romans 3:23"


Favorite Book
-Pride and Prejudice

ahall@popek12.org
Jaime Markovic Art

Position
- Art teacher

Years in this position
9

Job duties
Instruct and build up our students in the methods of art, problem solving and creating!

Likes
Art, traveling, the ocean, being home, reading, making!

Dislikes
proud people, humidity,

Hobbies
painting, decorating, reading

Hero
My parents

Favorite Quote
“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Cor. 12:9

Favorite Book
The Bible, To Kill a Mockingbird, The Secret Life of Bees, A Painted House

jmarkovic@popek12.org
Lisa Reed K-5 general music
Jr. High choir
Curriculum/testing coordinator

Years in this position
-29 years at Pope

Job duties
-Veterans Day, Christmas, Spring and graduation concerts and programs. Oversee the benchmark testing and progress monitoring K-8 Research and implement curriculum K-8 Grant writing for the district Monitor student grades and seek avenues to assist struggling students.

Likes
-Chocolate, traveling, touring historic sites, eating out, binge watching Netflix with my family.

Dislikes
- Cold, cloudy days!

Hobbies
-Singing, basket weaving, organizing!

Hero
- I don't have a specific hero. I guess (sing this next part) I need a Hero!

Favorite Quote
-Just be nice!

Favorite Book
-First the Bible. Second anything that is historical fiction.

lreed@popek12.org
     


Candice Lemon Instructional Aide
Library Clerk

Years in this position
6

Job duties
Instructional Aide: I assist students in the classroom with various assignments, assist the classroom teacher, and also work individually with students. I also help assist with Aimsweb, Star, and various other standardized tests. I work in the afternoon as a library clerk. I help students find and check out books among other duties related to the library.

Likes
S
pending time with my husband and four kids.

Dislikes
Snakes

Hobbies
Reading

Hero
My dad

Favorite Quote
"Sometimes you will never know the value of a moment until it becomes a memory"-Dr. Seuss

Favorite Book
The Bible

clemon@popek12.org


Charlie Poole Aide
cpoole@popek12.org
     
Janice Wallace Speech/Language Pathologist

 

Years in this position
13

Job duties
-My job includes performing evaluations, working as a team member to help determine eligibility for speech & language services, and providing direct, indirect, consultative, and RTI support services to help improve students' communication skills.

Likes
-I love stretchy pants, chocolate, and the beach.

Dislikes
-I have an irrational fear of bees and wasps. I'm not allergic; I'm just a giant chicken.

Hobbies
-I love hanging out with my family. I love to run, exercise, hike, and swim.

Hero
-My momma has always been my number 1 fan, and she is my biggest hero.

Favorite Quote
"Kindness is a language that the deaf can hear and the blind can see." - Mark Twain

Favorite Book
-I love to read. There is no way I could ever choose one favorite book.

jwallace@popek12.org
Kara Carlton Special Ed
kcarlton@popek12.org
Amanda Evenson






Michelle Reeves




aevenson@popek12.org








mreeves@popek12.org


Julie Roper
Special Ed Aide

Years in this position
-4

Job duties
-Helping Children Learn in Their Best Way

Likes
-Vacations, Food

Dislikes
-Mean People

Hobbies
-I have kids so no time for hobbies.

Hero
-My Grandparents


 jroper@popek12.org
     
Tracy O'Neal Special Needs Aide

toneal@popek12.org
Amber Presser Special Needs Aide
apresser@popek12.org
Tonya Walker
Special Needs Aide
twalker@popek12.org
     
Ed Blankenship Principal eblankenship@popek12.org
Cathy Jackson Secretary cjackson@popek12.org
Jennifer Broadway School Nurse jbroadway@popek12.org
     
Dwayne Hill Janitor dhill@popek12.org
Buddy Berger
Janitor
dberger@popek12.org



     
Kala Bonnell Cook kbonnell@popek12.org
Jan Garner Cook jgarner@popek12.org
Jamie Mitchell Cook

jmitchell@popek12.org